Government In Washington DC


In this article, we are going to discuss about the government in Washington DC. The information presented in this article will help you how the Washington DC Government works and related details. So, let us get started with the article to know more on the topic of government in Washington DC.


In the constitution of the United States, Article One, Section Eight has been used to grant the ultimate authority to the U.S. Congress over Washington, D.C. it is important to know there was no elected government in Washington DC until the passage of the 1973 Home Rule Act.


The Act delegated some of the Congressional powers over the District to a local government in Washington Dc, which was being run by an elected mayor, currently Adrian Fenty, and the thirteen-member Council of the District of Columbia. However, Congress retains the right to review and overturn laws created by the Washington Government council and intervene in local affairs.


The government in Washington DC has been divided into eight wards and in each ward; member is selected, known as the member of the council and five members, including the chairman, are elected at large.


Note that there are around 37 Advisory Neighborhood Commissions in the Washington DC Government, also known as ANCs. These are being elected by the small neighborhood districts. ANCs do exercise a great deal of control and the Washington government on regular basis consults them for their suggestions and certain consideration.


Government in Washington DC works i such a manner that the the mayor of the city and its council adopts a local budget which needs to be approved by the Congress. To fund the workings of the Washington DC government’s various agencies and to maintain its services, local income, sales, and property taxes provide about 67%.of total expenditure. Like in other 50 states of US, the government in Washington DC also gets federal grants for assistance programs such as Medicare, accounting for approximately 26% of the city's total revenue.


As far as other policies are concentrated, the Government in Washington observe all federal holidays. And it also participates in celebrating the Emancipation Day which falls on April 16 to commemorate the signing of the Compensated Emancipation Act by President Abraham Lincoln in 1862.